Did you miss me? Veganism, back with a bang!

January 27, 2013

Well hello and sorry in one equally emphatically delivered greeting. I do apologise for radio silence but I’ve had a fair bit of time taken up on a few other projects of late. For example, I’ve just got back from crossing Europe and Asia by train (see http://lowco2motives.wordpress.com/) and have just signed up for the Oxfam trailtrekker later this year (see http://powerhikingdudes.wordpress.com/) but that is no excuse for letting this slide so please accept my sincerest apologies.

Before lamenting any more about how busy I seem to be (oh and add that I’m getting the 9-month twitch for my PhD) I thought I should let you know that despite there not being regular blogs on the subject I’ve been keeping up veganism at least once per week whenever it’s been practical of late. In fact, owing to questionable vegetarian-ness of dairy based food while travelling I’ve been erring on the side of caution and been vegan more often than not.

But that’s not what you are I are here for, it’s the pretty food pictures isn’t it!?!

Okay, well one vegan day last week I had:

breakfast of champions – porridge with dates, coconut flakes, crystallized ginger, goji berries and raisins soaked overnight in rice milk and mixed spice with coffee and juice on the side.

Runny porridge with dates coconut flakes, ginger and goji berries

Runny porridge with dates coconut flakes, ginger and goji berries

lunch of avocado salad (avocado, lime juice, red onion, spinach, tomato and balsamic vinegar)

…and…

dinner of saag-butternut squash (saag aloo swapping potato for squash) with star anise, ginger, garlic, garam masala, turmeric, ground coriander, cardamom as spices and spinach, squash and mushroom in the mix with a bit of fresh coriander stirred in too

Dinner and lunch. Okay okay maybe I ate them together. I was hungry!

Dinner and lunch. Okay okay maybe I ate them together. I was hungry!

Supper (yes I worked late) of toasted butternut squash, humous, rocket and beetroot sandwiches

Toasties for supper. NOM!

Toasties for supper. NOM!

And I think that’s about it for today. I actually made enough to have pretty much the exact same menu the following day which was fortunate since they were awesome 🙂

Until next week

Ttfn!

Leave a Reply

